Thank you! We’ll see you in August!

Photo by Dr. Linda Sumption

The school year has officially ended here at Eastern New Mexico University and El Portal is going on its summer break. Before we do, however, we have a few things we’d like to say.

First and foremost, we would like to extend a thank you to our departing staff: Alex Pappalardo, Jade Smith, and Laura Jean Schneider. Alex and Jade have been staff writers on the blog since October of this year and have produced some truly excellent flash fiction pieces which can be read here. Likewise, Laura Jean and Alex have provided insightful help and support during El Portal‘s editorial process. Each of these staff members have been a key part of making El Portal what it is and will be sorely missed. Thank you all!

Likewise, we would like to extend a thank you to our contributors and readers. Thanks to you all, we’ve seen a large upsurge in interest and hope this trend continues. Full lists of contributors can be found at each of the links below.

During the 2015-2016 school year, El Portal produced two of its best issues yet, which can be read at the following links:

Fall 2015 Issue

Spring 2016 Issue

Finally, be on the lookout for El Portal’s Fall 2016 issue when we return. (Not to spoil too much, but the lineup’s pretty fantastic.) Thanks for another great year, readers, and we’ll see you in August!

Published by

El Portal

Eastern New Mexico University’s literary magazine, El Portal, offers a venue for the work of writers, artists and photographers. ENMU students, national, and international writers are welcome to submit their original, previously unpublished short stories, plays, poetry and photography. No entry fees are charged. Cash prizes are awarded to first-, second- and third-place winners in each category (only ENMU students qualify). El Portal is published each semester at Eastern thanks to Dr. Jack Williamson, a world-renowned science fiction writer and professor emeritus at ENMU who underwrote the publication. El Portal has been published since 1939.